Sailing Towards the Cape of Good Health – July 2015

Ahoy Mateys!

We’ve been talking a lot about money these first few posts but today we are doing something different but even more important, we will talk about health!

-I don’t see why, *I’m* in perfect health.

You are a figment of my imagination, you don’t count.

Now, when you think of the traditionally classic pirate body, you probably think beer belly, scraggly beards, peg legs and eye patches, and a general green tinge because they stick so bad.

-So basically, what you look like now.

HEY! I do not stink!

I will admit that I am not currently very healthy though. But with the help of my trusty parrot and my faithful crew, I will become the pirate I want to be!

-“Trusty”?

Yeah, it’s a stretch, just go with it for now.

To know where I want to go, I must first tell you my starting point. I will be honest, I was a lot more comfortable posting my financial information than I am telling you my weight. That’s because I am currently winning with my doubloons but losing in the health arena.

This makes it all the more important that I do share it though! I’m making myself truly accountable in reaching my goal now that I’m sharing it with the whole internet! In fact-

-Oh, get on with it already!

Fine, fine. Impatient bird.

I am 5′ 9″ tall and I currently weigh…296.6 lbs.

-…wow.

Wow indeed my feathered friend. My weight puts me very squarely in the “Morbidly Obese” range of the BMI chart. Not a place I want to be at all.

My long term goals are: to weigh 165 lbs, have six-pack abs, be able to completely run a 10k, and have a body fat percentage in the teens.

I also plan on completing all these goals in 2 years.

Can I do it? Absolutely!

Will it be hard as hell? Absolutely!

How the hell am I going to do it? Absolutely! Wait, wrong response…

My plan is to take small steps, make reachable monthly goals, and make permanent changes to my habits. I will report back to you every month with how I did, how it felt, and what the next months goals are!

So here are this months goals:

1. Drink only 1 diet soda per day

2. Drink at least 8 glasses of water per day

3. Eat at least 1 serving of vegetables per day

-Seems a little TOO easy, don’t you think?

A little, but at the same time, these are great starting points and things that I have been very bad at doing in the past. I usually drink 5-6 diet sodas a day, barely any water, and there are plenty of days that pass with no vegetables! These 3 goals will help me build a sturdy base to grow from.

-Wait, diet sodas have no calories, why are you cutting those out?

Diet sodas may not have calories, but they have plenty of artificial sweeteners and chemicals that gunk up your body and make you gain weight anyway. Plus, by reaching for a glass of water instead of a soda when I’m thirsty, I will be well on my way for my second goal!

-If diet sodas are so bad, just cut it out completely!

I plan to in a later goal, but for this month I’m taking it easy and keeping my morning caffeine buzz!

Now, having all the best goals and intentions in the world does absolutely nothing unless you track it! I’ve been introduced to a very fun and geeky tool that I absolutely love: HabitRPG!

This is a habit building site that lets you treat your life like a role playing game! You create a character and level them up by completing daily tasks, to-dos, and by creating new habits.

-Just when I thought you couldn’t get geekier.

and pooch
Mighty Warrior!

That’s me! I am a level 7 warrior with a tiger cub pet! Once I get to level 10 I will switch to rogue class so I can become a true pirate!

Ok, that’s all for today. There will be an update in approximately 1 month to show my progress to SEXY pirate-hood!

-Parrots are truly sexy without even trying.

Until next time, avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credit: Gamers Fanon Wikia

One thought on “Sailing Towards the Cape of Good Health – July 2015

  1. Pingback: Top Surgery Musings | The Pirate's Life For Me

Leave a Reply

