Sailing Towards the Cape of Good Health – August 2015

Ahoy Mateys!

I apologize for the lack of substantial posts lately, but I am back with another health update!

-I don’t see why, *I’m* in perfect health.

You are a figment of my imagination, you don’t count.

Now, when you think of the traditionally classic pirate body, you probably think beer belly, scraggly beards, peg legs and eye patches, and a general green tinge because they stick so bad.

-So basically, what you look like now.

HEY! I do not stink!

I will admit that I am not currently very healthy though. But with the help of my trusty parrot and my faithful crew, I will become the pirate I want to be!

-“Trusty”?

Yeah, it’s a stretch, just go with it for now.

Last month I weighed in at 296.6 lbs.

This month I weigh…301.0 lbs

-YOU GAINED WEIGHT?!?! I thought the whole purpose of this was to LOSE weight.

Wow indeed my feathered friend. My weight still puts me very squarely in the “Morbidly Obese” range of the BMI chart. Not a place I want to be at all.

My long term goals are: to weigh 165 lbs, have six-pack abs, be able to completely run a 10k, and have a body fat percentage in the teens.

I also plan on completing all these goals in 2 years.

Can I do it? Absolutely!

Will it be hard as hell? Absolutely!

How the hell am I going to do it? Absolutely! Wait, wrong response…

My plan is to take small steps, make reachable monthly goals, and make permanent changes to my habits. I will report back to you every month with how I did, how it felt, and what the next months goals are!

So here are last months goals:

1. Drink only 1 diet soda per day Check! I have actually completely given up sodas now, huzzah!

2. Drink at least 8 glasses of water per day Check! Big fan of water and unsweetened ice tea now!

3. Eat at least 1 serving of vegetables per day Check! My hardest task, had some days I just squeaked by, but feeling more confident now!

-Not too shabby…I guess…

Here are this month’s new goals:

1. Exercise: 20 push-ups per day (rest Sundays)

2. Avoid sweets (desserts, candy, etc.)

3. Eat at least 2 servings of vegetables per day, 1 at lunch and 1 at dinner

-NO SWEETS?!?!

Not a complete ban on sweets! Just an awareness and avoidance. I like cookies and sour patch kids way too much for my own good. This is just a “work on my ability to say no” kinda exercise.

-Also, do you really have to split the veggies up?

Yeah, I think so. I’ve had lots of days this month that I would have a veggie at lunch and then “reward” myself with a carb filled dinner. I need to be aware of veggies at both big meals of the day.

Now, having all the best goals and intentions in the world does absolutely nothing unless you track it! I’ve been introduced to a very fun and geeky tool that I absolutely love: HabitRPG!

This is a habit building site that lets you treat your life like a role playing game! You create a character and level them up by completing daily tasks, to-dos, and by creating new habits.

-Just when I thought you couldn’t get geekier.

and pooch
Mighty Warrior!

That was me last month! I was a level 7 warrior with a tiger cub pet!

Now here I am:

Arrrg!
Arrrg!

Level 25 pirate awesomeness with my blue parrot pal!

-Yay! I exist!

Ok, that’s all for today. There will be an update in approximately another month to show my progress to SEXY pirate-hood! Hopefully next time with some weight loss!

-Parrots are truly sexy without even trying.

Oh hush you.

Until next time, avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credit: Gamers Fanon Wikia

Leave a Reply

