Cooking With the Captain!

Ahoy mateys!

This is the Captain chatting about my latest attempt to actually cook for myself!

I can’t cook.

I am the first to admit this.

I’m ok with grilled cheeses and the occasional pasta, but beyond that I am rather helpless.

Tuesday, I decided this needed to change and went about making myself some cooked chicken!

The last time I made chicken for myself, 2-3 years ago, the recipe I had was to put the chicken in a cake tin with some Italian vinaigrette in an oven at 400 deg for about 20 min.

Easy peasy right?

Oh boy was I wrong.

Well, I went to the supermarket and got my chicken and a half dozen other random things like twizzlers and beer…but forgot the Italian dressing.

Dang it.

Well, I’m already home, I suppose I’ll find a new recipe to try!

Found one online that just needed the chicken, some olive oil, and seasonings. I’ve got that!

Well…so I don’t have olive oil…hmmm…I have balsamic vinaigrette from an olive oil company though…close enough!

Put the chicken on a pan, rubbed some salt and pepper on it, and covered with the balsamic vinaigrette.

Check!

Next, cover with parchment paper to keep moisture in.

Well crap, I don’t have parchment paper.

Hmmmm, aha! I have wax paper! That will work!

Preheated the oven and set the timer for 35 min.

Walked away, came back a few minutes later, timer at 35 min.

Oh, I must have set the timer to 40 min, its all good.

Sit down, watch some TV, checked again later…oven is off.

What??

Damn it!!

Figured out how the oven actually works and got the chicken actually cooking finally.

30 min later, pull the chicken out, the wax paper is stuck to the pan and the visible balsamic is burned all to hell.

Ah dang it.

Pull the paper slowly off the chicken and was surprised to see nicely cooked chicken underneath! Also surprisingly, it came off the pan and the paper pretty easily, with just one bite size piece left behind.

Made myself a chicken and cheddar cheese sandwich for dinner and it was actually pretty good.

Had some leftovers for the next few days and overall a rather interesting experience.

Huzzah! I shall label this escapade a triumph!

I think I’m going to stick with my original recipe next time though.

Whelp, that’s all I got for now.

Until next time,

Avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credit: (c) ZugArt

One thought on “Cooking With the Captain!

  1. Pingback: Counting the Coins -September/ October 2015 | The Pirate's Life For Me

Leave a Reply

