Counting the Coins -September/ October 2015

Ahoy Mateys!

This is the Captain speaking with my feathery companion Norry to discuss finance!

Last month, I highlighted my current income and took a look at my September 2015 budget. Now let’s see how I did!

September 2015 Budget Complete

-Still having troubles with restaurants I see?

Yup, still having trouble. If you’ve read my cooking post, you might understand why I eat out so much. It’s partly because I’m pretty sure I will poison myself when I try to cook.

Luckily I’ve got an awesome friend who is an amazing cook and has agreed to give me lessons! I now know one really good recipe and shall be living on chicken parmesan for the next month.

Also, while I am over budget this month, I did manage to spend slightly less than last month so woohoo for progress!

-You spent 8 doubloons less than last month and you are celebrating?

Progress is progress my friend.

-Weirdo…

-So you going to tell us what was so unexpected this month? You went over that budget by a 100 doubloons too.

Name change fees. Passport alone cost 110 to renew/ update, and then bus rides to the courthouse, record copies, and the drivers license fee of 11 and there went 150 doubloons in the blink of an eye.

Luckily, it looks like all the big stuff is covered, so while I am still trying to get the name change applied everywhere, the rest of the changes should be free.

Other notes/clarifications:

Fixed: Anything with a set-in stone due date or was needed for survival. Groceries, housing, utilities, phone bill, as well as my donations and patreon are under this bucket.

Invest: Stocks, bonds, and funds go in this bucket.

Fun: Partying, drinking, eating out, going to the movies, vacations, ect. all falls in this bucket.

After that, everything not spent goes into my general savings bucket for short-term needs.

-I thought you were supposed to do savings first, not last.

In general, yes Norry, you are correct. In my case, I’m attempting to use my savings as a carrot on a stick. With this structure, I know that the only way to save a lot is to slow down on eating out and doing other random things. Since I have a strong desire to save, this should help me a lot!

I also automated a lot of my expenses so I don’t have to worry about them! All items with the green highlight are taken care of without me having to lift a finger. Technology is helpful sometimes.

But all this is looking into the past. It’s time to take a look at next month’s budget plan:

October 2015 Budget

Did a little reorganizing, I’ve paused my donations a bit, and increased House Savings, but overall very similar to last month’s budget.

As you can see, I’ve knocked down my restaurant bucket and my “other” bucket down again. Goal is to get them both down to $200 each for plenty of play money while still saving a good chunk.

-If you are saving for a house, why put anything in general savings?

It’s good to have a cushion for unexpected expenses and plus I have lots of other little goals I’m saving up for! My general savings is where money for plane tickets to go home and big once a year expenses come from.

-Humans are so complicated.

Agreed Norry.

That’s all I have for now, next post will be on how my Net Worth fared for the month of August.

Until next time, avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credit: (c) Anna Chelnokova Dreamstime Stock Photos

One thought on “Counting the Coins -September/ October 2015

  1. Pingback: Counting the Coins – October/November 2015 | The Pirate's Life For Me

Leave a Reply

