Top Surgery Musings

Ahoy mateys!

This is the Captain speaking to discuss life!

Just a note before we get started, there are pictures of bare breasts in this post so I need to label it.

*******NSFW*******

Still with me? Good.

I’ve mentioned that I am transgender (FTM) and plan to have top surgery at some point.

For those who don’t know:

Top Surgery is one of the most commonly performed gender reassignment surgeries available for FTM transsexuals. Top Surgery allows a trans man to live more comfortably, improving psychological and social functioning, and it may be the only surgical step that he takes in his transition. Top surgery procedures include bilateral mastectomy (breast removal) and male chest contouring.

Examples (Top is before, bottom is after)

ftm-chest-reconstruction-photo-t9 ftm-chest-reconstruction-photo-t5

I hate my boobs. Seriously and honestly, wearing a bra just plain sucks. I have zero qualms about getting top surgery done and look forward to it almost as much as I look forward to growing facial hair. (Which is a lot, I mean, seriously, how can you be a pirate without a swashbuckling beard?)

I have the money currently available to get the surgery done.

Top surgery can run from 5k-8k bucks for the procedure. There is legislature and petitions in place to potentially make all gender reassignment surgeries covered by insurance which would be AWESOME, but aren’t in effect just yet.

The problem is that my original plan was to lose weight, get the surgery, then start taking testosterone (called T in the rest of the post) in that order.

From the start of my weight loss journey 4 months ago till now, I haven’t lost anything and have actually GAINED weight.

Not cool.

Still working on that.

So at the moment, I’m frustrated and wondering if I should just go ahead and get the surgery and take the T sooner rather than later. Chopping boobs off means immediate loss of a couple pounds and T = higher metabolism so, boom, solved, I’ll loose weight in no time.

Except the reason I’m putting it off currently is because T also has the potential to make me GAIN weight like crazy.

I want to have the lifestyle habits in place so that when I do start taking T, it will simply BOOST my already forward momentum instead of simply praying that it will PROVIDE the momentum.

Besides, if there is any chance I can get insurance to pay for all this, that’d be pretty darn sweet.

Of course, I suppose there is the option to get top surgery now/soon, then focus on losing weight, and then take T.

I dunno. I run through these musings monthly, usually when my hormones start making me feel more out of whack than normal. Then as things stabilize again, I stick with the plan.

At this point in time, weight loss is my biggest concern and should remain my immediate priority.

Just because it’s logical doesn’t mean I have to like it though.

That’s all I have for today.

Until next time,

Avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credits

Top: Mark Stivers

Middle: La Belle Vie

Leave a Reply

