I Bought a Car

Ahoy Mateys!

This is the Captain here to talk about life!

Back in this post, I described my reasons for wanting to sell my car and getting a new one. (Well, a used one. A “new to me” one. Y’all know what I mean.

Funny enough, I wrote that post on Friday, and wound up buying a car on Saturday. So by the time the post came out on Sunday, I had already made my decision and signed the paperwork.

The internet is weird that way.

Anyway, Saturday morning, I woke up with a spring in my step and determination in my heart and headed to the dealership.

Mistake #1.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the car I have now, and certainly love the extra money in my pocket, but after reviewing my actions, I got a lot of things wrong and could have done much better.

Mistake #1: I went to the dealership without doing any research. I had a general idea of what my car was worth from Kelly Blue Book, but I had zero clue what kind of money I should ask for it, or even what kind of new car I was looking for.

I got to the dealership, met a nice salesman, and started looking around.

We glanced through the used sedans for sale and I didn’t see anything within my budget worth looking at, until the very last car in the very last row.

There it was, a cherry red 2006 Buick Lucerne CXL with an 8k sticker on the windshield.

Nooo, it couldn’t be that easy could it?

Mistake #2: I got sucked in my the price. I new that my car was worth about 18k, so here was a shiny car with a $10,000 check practically being handed to me.

It had all the luxury items I knew I was going to miss from my 2012 Ford Edge: leather seats, heated seats, XM radio, and even back-up sensors!

(From a recent rainstorm, I have also learned it has rain sensor windshield wipers which automatically adjust speed for the conditions! I had no idea those even existed.)

I took the car out for a drive to see how it handled. It’s a large sedan, so it rather felt a lot like my Edge, very easy to control.

Mistake #3: I got attached. The salesman said something along the lines of “If you don’t take this car, I’m going to have to grab it!” and I remember saying “nope, this one’s mine!” That 10k check was calling my name so hard, and the leather interior was so soft, my mind was completely ignoring the 116k miles and the less than stellar gas mileage.

After all, that was the MAIN reason I was looking for a “new” car, trying to find something with better mileage than what I had.

Mistake #4: I took what they offered for my car. This may seem silly, but the mistake was really that I didn’t contest them at all. The dealership guys praised that I kept my car in great condition, then gave me barely over the KBB value for it. My addled brain saw the “over kbb value” and simply said yes.

In retrospect, I could have gotten more for it. They had sent an email out saying they NEEDED used Fords for winter deals and plus my car was well kept and had low mileage for its year.

Then finally, we come to probably my worst mistake.

Mistake #5: I was in a hurry. I was meeting with my realtor to look at a place that afternoon and the clock was ticking. Silly me, I couldn’t leave in the middle of the transaction, that would be rude! (please note the sarcasm).

I should have slowed down, took a step back, and thought about it for a couple hours.

Now with days under my belt, and perhaps very surprisingly, I think I made a good decision getting the car.

The best decision? Oh hell no.

But it wasn’t bad.

My new Buick is in very good condition, has everything I want/need, and I have the money in the bank for an emergency.

Things I could have done better:

  • Mistake #1 – I should have done more research about what my car was worth and what I wanted.
  • Mistake #2 – All I saw was dollar signs in my eyes, I needed to look past that to the quality of the vehicle.
  • Mistake #3 – With any decision requiring a lot of money, I should have tried to stay impartial.
  • Mistake #4 – The dealer always wins in poker and in cars, I should have negotiated more.
  • Mistake #5 – Never rush to make a decision. If I had slowed down, I might have gotten more money or just not have gotten the car.

Ah well, here’s hoping I know better next time 🙂

Any thoughts, feel free to comment below!

Until next time,

Avast ye scoundrels!

Photo Credit: netcarshow.com

Leave a Reply

